What does “Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed & Something Blue” mean?

Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue

Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue

I love traditions! Especially this one. Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue…a collection of gifts given just before the ceremony. These tokens each represent special meanings:

Old: continuity
New: brand new future
Borrowed: cherished relationships
Blue: faithfulness, purity & loyalty

Although I admit…when I got married, I made sure I had these items arranged before the day of the wedding. It wasn’t until later that I found out these items were traditionally given to the bride at the 11th hour…but who cares! I was eating chocolate donuts at the 11th hour! I’m just glad I added the “Something Old, New, Borrowed, Blue” tradition to my celebration.

It is fun carrying on traditions…make sure to ask the ladies in your family (and your husband-to-be’s family) what additional traditions that they carried on. Tradition is history. And your wedding is the new chapter in history; it is the story you are beginning to write.

For additional fun facts on this “Something Old” tradition, check out this link to The Knot – it has a bit more fun detail.

Leave a Reply

